Passion

Runners High? Numerous studies show that running releases mood-enhancing hormones and neurotransmitters. It’s no wonder running helps me with depression. When I don’t get to run for a few days in a row I am grumpy, easily irritated, and short tempered. Running makes me a better version of myself; I am more calm and easy going. I even have more energy. I look forward to running when I am not. I feel a twinge of jealousy when I see others out running and I am not. Don’t even mention the possibility of an injury that keep would me from running. I am always looking for races that I would like to run in the future. I am exploring longer and longer distances I never thought I would consider. Running to me equals freedom from all the garbage in my head, the negative thoughts and the worries of the day. It makes me feel like a child again, filled with wonder at the sky, the clouds, the trees, the birds.

I am very fortunate right now to have the privilege of coaching beginner runners. I tell them my passion is sharing running with anyone and everyone because I know if I can do it so can they. I share my story on how running helped me lose weight and deal with long term depression and disappointment. I’ve seen running become a viable treatment for addiction in a friend. Running also helps people with anger issues. I’ve said to friends that if the world was full of long distance runners there would be no wars! Running definitely changes lives. My favorite thing about coaching is seeing those that make running their own, those who set goals and achieve them! It fuels my passion for sharing the joy of running.

I’ve been throwing the word passion around about my running for awhile. With this being “Passion Week,” as Easter is a few days away, it got me thinking about the word Passion. I did not know the Latin origin means to suffer. We use it to mean strong emotion, to really love something, but originally it was understood to mean the suffering and death of Jesus on the cross. When I think about all that Christ endured from the Last Supper to his Resurrection there certainly are many strong emotions going on in my head. How? Why? What?!?! That Jesus suffered to save ME? Because I lie, I hate, I am envious… I am a sinner. Talk about love.

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. John 3:16

His love is so great for us. It’s there for us. All we have to do is believe. I am passionate about running. I want to share the good it does for me, for many other people. Guess what? Jesus is even better.

 

Author: arunneraftergodsownheart

Christian Runner, overcoming depression one step at a time.

Leave a comment